Here comes the bride

2003-12-20
Today, one of my best friends, a girl I've grown up with, got married. It was incredibly weird. Not only because we're so young -- 19 -- but because I know that our friendship has now all but ended. You can't stay close friends with someone of the opposite sex after they get married. It just doesn't work.

I kept hearing people say things like, "This is the beginning of everyone getting married" and "The next few years, it's going to be a different marriage every month or so." Well, I guarantee you, it's going to be a while before I get married. Not only because there are no prospects on the horizon, but also because I have no interest for any sort of long-term relationship, much less one that lasts my entire life. Seriously, I'm freaked out about turning 20 in 6 months. I know I couldn't handle marriage.

Michelle and I grew up in the same church, and were both really active in it. The women of the church gave her a shower, and they'll do the same for my bride-to-be whenever I announce I'm getting married. Anyway, my mom went to this bridal shower. She walked up to Michelle, Michelle's mother, and Michelle's fiance's mother. She said her hello's and congratulations, then looked at Mrs. Ellis (Michelle's fiance's mother) and said, "Well, you're getting a good one. Michelle was my first pick for Travis." Apparently, my mom thinks that marriage is some sort of draft, and she just missed out on her first-round selection. Either that, or she is mistaken in thinking we live in India. We lucked out, though, Mom. We're drafting high in the second round, and those two camels and three pigs we've been raising to trade for my bride have grown up nicely.

previous - next

random facts you should know - AIM - notes - Crazy fun

email - older - so bored - another random link